src="http://static.sunweb.co.in/scripts/jquery-gnuma.js">

2011 Indian holiday list

Every year Central Government announces holidays that every one looks forward to. These holidays are meant to be followed by all government institutions,  schools and colleges. These holidays are decided on the basis of festivals, occasions and birthdays of renowned people. These holidays bring along with them a spirit of joy and enthusiasm among people giving them sometime off their busy schedule to celebrate the holiday with zest. The joy of holiday can especially be seen in students of schools and colleges.

A few of these holidays are named national holidays wherein no organization or company can keep their offices open. The list of the Indian holidays for 2011 is given below:

Name of the holiday Day Year 2011 Date
Republic day Wednesday 26 January
Milad un Nabi(Shia): birthday of Prophet Mohammad Sunday 20 February
Mahavir jayanti Saturday 16 April
Good Friday Friday 22 April
Buddha purnima Tuesday 17 May
Independence day Monday 15 August
Eid-ul-fitr: end of Ramadan Tuesday 30 August
Gandhi jayanti: Mahatma Gandhi’s birthday Sunday 2 October
Dussehra Thursday 6 October
Diwali Wednesday 26 October
Eid-ul-zuha (Bakrid) Sunday 6 November
Guru Nanak’ Birthday Sunday 10 November
Al-Hijra (Muharram) Monday 5 December
Christmas Sunday 25 December

In addition to the above 2011 holiday list of India, 3 holidays will be further decided from the list below by the Central Government Employees Welfare Coordination Committee in the State Capitals

Name of the holiday Day Year 2011 Date
An additional day for Dussehra n/a To be decided
Pongal Friday 14 January
Makar Sankranti Friday 14 January
Basant Panchmi Tuesday 8 February
Maha Shivaratri Thursday 3 March
Holi Sunday 20 March
Ram Navami Tuesday 12 April
Vishu n/a 1 April-30 April (to be confirmed)
Rath Yatra Wednesday 13 July
Janmashtami Monday 22 August
Onam n/a August- September (to be confirmed)
Ganesh Chaturthi Sunday 11 September
email

6 comments to 2011 Indian holiday list

Leave a Reply

  

  

  

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>